Giving Birth To My Daughter

I finally gave birth to my daughter. She was born on December 1st at 9:26 pm. She weighed six pounds, five ounces, and was 18 3/4 inches. At first, I started having strong contractions the day before. I decided to call my OBGYN office and let them know that I believe I was going into labor at that moment. I explained to the nurse my symptoms and she advised me to go to labor and delivery. When I arrived there, they placed me in the triad and check my vitals and the progression of my baby. They told me later on that I wasn’t in labor and that they would have to release me because I was only one centimeter dilated. The next morning, around 4:30 am, I began having really bad contractions and started bleeding. I called the nurse again and she advised me to go back to the hospital. This time, it was confirmed that I was indeed in labor. I was so nervous. At that moment, I was just focusing on the pain. I didn’t want anyone talking to me or touching me. I just needed to stay calm. 

Photo by: Marquez Brown

Photo by: Marquez Brown

I was in labor around 11 1/2 hours until I started pushing. When I arrived to the hospital at 10:00 am, the doctor told me I was three centimeters dilated. A few hours later, I was at five centimeters. By that evening, I was at ten centimeters. Throughout that time, I was in excruciating pain. I couldn’t take it anymore. I ended up getting an epidural to ease the pain. I told myself that I would go natural. It ain’t happen like that. Not at all. It took a while for them to figure out where they will put it at. It was getting a little bit frustrating and I was getting tired of bending over. Finally, it was over. To tell you the truth, I didn’t see a change. So, through every contraction I had, I took a deep breath and counted however many seconds it took for them to go away. It took about fifty seconds. The contractions were mainly in my stomach for the majority of my labor. Then, it hit my back. I think maybe around 8:00 pm, the OBGYN said that since I was ten centimeters dilated that they would come back in a half an hour to assist me in giving birth. Well, thirty minutes went by, no doctor. Forty five minutes, no one came. I started pushing before the doctors came in. It was like one of those uncontrollable moments. Everyone in the room was looking at me like I was crazy. Mr. Amazing had to go out and get the doctors and tell that I was ready. 

Photo by: Marquez Brown

Photo by: Marquez Brown

There it goes, it was go time. Finally, a few minutes later, Crystiana was here. It was so shocking but amazing at the same time. All of a sudden, I began to cry. It just hit me like a ton of bricks. I am a mother now. She is so beautiful. It was love at first sight when I finally met my daughter after carrying her for approximately forty weeks. My original due date. That is rare. My friend walked over to me and wiped my tears. I really appreciate the fact that he did that. Hell, for coming to the hospital to meet boo boo. I love him. I held her for the first time and said, “You are my miracle baby.” 

After giving birth, that is when everyone came. My sisters, Dominique and Danielle, my dad, Mr. Amazing’s mother, and my mom. Everyone just wanted to see her, hold her, and take photos. Afterwards, I left labor and delivery and was transferred to another room. For the two days I was there, it was a great bonding experience for me with my daughter. I learned techniques on breastfeeding her with one hand among other things. By the time I got home, my milk dried up and wasn’t coming out anymore. I had to start feeding her formula. 

I adjusted well with being a new mother and taking care of her. I was scared to pick her up, but I learned an easy way to do it with just my left hand. Once you give birth, the motherly instinct comes in and you just learn how to care for a newborn without any prior knowledge on how to do so. 

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

This entry was published on February 3, 2017 at 10:30 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

