Preparing For The Baby

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

My pregnancy is coming to an end, and now it’s time to start preparing for her arrival. Overall, we have enough clothes for her that my godfather gave me awhile ago in the earlier parts of my pregnancy. I’m very appreciative of that. In addition to that, I bought her a few booties, a Minnie Mouse grooming kit (it’s so cute), a couple of pacifiers, receiving blankets, bibs, burp cloths, and a sleepwear outfit. I will be buying some more items in the next few days. The rest of the gifts are coming from my guests that are attending my baby shower later on this month. In addition to that, I have been reading a book preparing me for parenthood and what to expect after the baby is born. It’s been helpful. 

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

I recently just found out the theme and colors of my baby shower. The theme is pea in a pod. My baby is the pea and I’m the pod. Not to mention, that’s my nickname from my family. Strange, right? The colors are the awareness colors for cerebral palsy and epilepsy. That was really sweet for my family to take into consideration. They know how important it is to me. I love them for that.

Photo by: Wayfair

Photo by: Wayfair

I just purchased Crissy’s bassinet and I couldn’t be more excited for her arrival. It just feels so much real now that my family and I are putting together the baby items. I have five more weeks to go in my pregnancy journey. At first, I was searching for an accessible crib, such as a convertible crib or a drop down crib. Then again, I knew the risks of getting a drop down crib. I decided to search for another one to use for the baby. I found one. It’s in a city that is an hour away from Cleveland. The crib is called the Pedialift. It is made for anyone with any range of physical limitations. If they are wheelchair bound or not, it is great. The Pedialift crib is an accessible crib that opens down the middle. It provides easy access for the mother or father to put the baby in and out of the crib. If you would like to learn more information about the Pedialift crib, check out their website at: www.pedialift.com.

Photo by: PediaLift

Photo by: PediaLift

Everything has been going great. My glucose exam was negative. My weigh gain has been gradual and in good standing. So far, I have gained 26 pounds in the duration of my pregnancy before I found out I was expecting. That’s good according to my BMI. As for boo boo, she is currently at five pounds and she is laying very low. She is preparing for her arrival into the world. The lamictal medication levels have been in good standing. I’m satisfied. This past Wednesday, my doctors set up an appointment for me to talk to an anesthesiologist to discuss whether or not it would be safe to get an epidural. The anesthesiologist didn’t see any reason to worry except that they will have to be very careful where in my back they will have to place it. If ever I needed to get a c- section, he told me that I would have to go under general anesthesia. They are scared to give me a spinal tap. To tell you the truth, I want a natural birth without the epidural. I have a high tolerance for pain. Now, I am not denying the fact that there is pain involved when giving birth, I just have my preferences. I cannot wait until she comes. Any day now. 

This entry was published on November 5, 2016 at 6:42 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

