First Ultrasound+Maternal Fetal Medicine Appointment

I was excited to have my first ultrasound. By May 24th, I anxiously got ready for the appointment. At the time, I was 11 weeks pregnant. The father and I sat in the room and looked at our baby’s development. It was heartwarming. To tell you the truth, I shed a tear. It truly took my breath away. I realized at that point that I am going to be a mother. It was crazy. I have no doubt in my mind that I would be the best mother that I could be to this baby. I knew in my heart that I would. No one can tell me otherwise. It was amazing for me to see my baby’s little arms, toes, legs, and face. During the ultrasound, our baby was quite busy. Just moving and flipping. It has a mind of its own. I can definitely tell that the baby will be just my boyfriend and I. We have silly personalities and are active in certain ways. I was thinking at that moment who was he or she going to look like. Me or him. We will see as the baby gets older. I have so much to think about. What type of mother I will be. What my goals will be for the baby. Various types of things. Thoughts were just running through my head. At the end of the appointment, we got a printout of some of the images from the ultrasound. We were smiling. Oohing and aahing and pointing at the images on each picture. There were four images. I got two and my boyfriend got two. The ultrasound technician also gave us a disc of the images. I plan on putting together a photo album containing the ultrasound pictures and pictures that I have taken of myself throughout the pregnancy. Sounds great, right?

My first maternal fetal medicine visit was on June 2nd. I was trying to figure out what that appointment was going to entail. When I arrived there, the attending OBGYN just ran over my medical history with epilepsy. He advised me of the risks that my seizure medications have on my baby. He gave me the rundown of the potential birth defects that may occur, such as underdeveloped genitals, fingers, and heart conditions. He ordered me to get a fetal echocardiogram. For those of you that do not know, a fetal echocardiogram is an ultrasound in which you can see how the child’s heart is developing. On June 23rd, I was scheduled to have my fetal echocardiogram. It was the longest ultrasound. It took at least two to three hours for the cardiologist to finish the exam. I was actually falling asleep on the ultrasound table. Hahahahaha. At the end of the appointment, the doctor gave me great news. The baby’s heart is developing normally but some of the structures were small. Thus, I had to make another appointment to go see her. 

This entry was published on July 21, 2016 at 9:47 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

