News To Share

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

I have quite the news to share with everyone. It was unexpected news, but nonetheless exciting. It was surprising. I’m embracing it though. I found out that I was pregnant again. I found out on April 24th. I took three pregnancy tests. They all were positive. One at the doctor’s office and two at home. You can’t be too sure so, I needed to make sure. I get a lot of support from my sisters, best friend, my daddy, and the father. That’s what I need during this life- changing, but amazing moment in my life. Some people that I know think that I got pregnant again on purpose. That’s absolutely not true. I wasn’t looking for it to happen again. It just did. 

I talked to my neurologist. He decided to keep my medications at the current dosages. Every month I have to get my blood levels checked for my lamictal medication. I saw a midwife on May 17th. Basically, it was confirmed that I was pregnant. My due date is December 1st. Coincidentally, that is the same day that Mr. Amazing and I started talking to each other. That’s crazy. Anyways, I went over my medical history and heard my baby’s heartbeat for the first time. I actually started tearing up. I couldn’t believe it.  

I was advised to get my first ultrasound and go to preconception counseling because I am a high risk pregnancy. My first ultrasound was on May 24th. Another teary- eyed moment. Mr. Amazing and I saw our baby. My little boo butt. The baby was quite the busy bee. He/she was moving around so much. The baby was even trying to cover his/her face. It was cute to me. I can already tell my baby is gonna be like me… a hot mess. Not to mention, a silly person. But hey. Ain’t nothing wrong with that. It comes with the package for being my baby. My due date was changed to December 7th due to me having irregular menstrual cycles.

My preconception counseling was on June 2nd. It was for maternal fetal medicine assisting those women who have been classified as high risk in pregnancy. I just couldn’t help but wonder what that appointment was going to be about. I wasn’t nervous though. My OBGYN talked to me about any birth defects that may occur with my pregnancy. He talked to me about genital abnormalities, underdeveloped fingers, and possible heart defects. He reassured me that everything is going to be okay. He ordered me to have a fetal echocardiogram on June 23rd. For those of you that do not know, a fetal echocardiogram is an ultrasound that checks for any abnormalities in the fetus’ heart. Everything was good and well with my child’s heart. I was so happy to hear that. 

This entry was published on July 20, 2016 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

