Finding Out I Was Pregnant

Finding out I was pregnant was so scary to me. I didn’t know what to do. I looked down at the pregnancy test that I took. I couldn’t believe that it was mine. I was pregnant once before earlier this year, and I ended up having a miscarriage at six weeks. It was devastating to me, and I told myself that I would start back up to having another baby the next year. To my surprise, I found out I was pregnant again on April 24, 2016. I had symptoms that were leading to pregnancy. I put the possibility of pregnancy out of my mind and said to myself that it must be my menstrual cycle. Guess what? My menstrual cycle never came. I was eight weeks pregnant when I discovered I was having another baby.

I kept it a secret from telling my mother because I knew how she would react. I just decided to confide in my boyfriend, best friend, sisters, and dad first. My mom found out the secret just by looking at me. That’s when I revealed the news. She was disappointed. We all had to embrace the fact that I was pregnant and deal with it. I was excited. I always wanted to be a mom. I felt like by having epilepsy it would be a hindrance to that. There is a relief to all my worries. I want to be the best mother that I can be to my child and for him or her to be proud of me.

I took my first steps in prenatal care the next day. I went to my primary care physician and told her that I took a home pregnancy test and it came up positive. Just to be sure, I asked her if I can take another test. That test was positive as well. On May 17th, I had an appointment to go see my midwife and she set everything up for me. I was advised to enroll in maternal fetal medicine and to get my first ultrasound. Maternal fetal medicine is a program for those women who have high risk pregnancies. I have to go there every month to get examined and take any necessary tests for my baby’s health. 

Photo by: Me 8 Weeks Pregnant

Photo by: Me
8 Weeks Pregnant

This entry was published on July 20, 2016 at 12:36 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

