Last Speech Therapy Session

Yesterday was my last therapy session with my speech and hearing client. It was an emotional moment for the both of us. Over the past few weeks that I have been working with her, I have grown a connection with her. I can relate to her in so many ways. She is such a special little girl with a lot of potential. I let her know how much I will miss her and how beautiful she is to me. I let her know that she can do anything if she just set her mind to it. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. She is really a shy person and has difficulty with learning how to perform social tasks. The attending clinician and I made it a goal to help her overcome her social anxiety. I see myself in her. I really have grown to love her. As a future speech therapist, you learn to grow a relationship with your client. That’s what happened to me. I grew a relationship with her that is unforgettable. 

She made me a thank you note for helping her with her speech and being there to support her. She also gave me a chocolate flavored cupcake. I loved it. Every little bit of it. It made me smile to see that I made an impact on someone else’s life. That’s why I chose to go into this profession. I want to be a guide and support system for those who have a physical disability or speech impairment. It has such a rewarding feeling. It’s indescribable. Believe me. It’s an amazing feeling to experience. 

Photo by: Me  The thank you card and cupcake that my client gave me.

Photo by: Me
The thank you card and cupcake that my client gave me.

This entry was published on May 6, 2016 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

