Epilepsy Update: Eight Hour EEG Results

Since I’ve had my eight hour EEG done, I have been trying to make an appointment with my neurologist. It has been unsuccessful though. The appointments that I have made were cancelled at least two or three times. I took it upon myself to call the office and see if I can get an earlier appointment because I needed to talk to my neurologist’s nurse about my current health as of lately. Fortunately, she had a cancellation, so I made the appointment for today at 3:00 pm. 

My reason for coming to see her was to receive the results from the eight hour EEG that was performed on me on December 19th. I am always curious about what’s happening with my health. She told me that even though the EEG didn’t record any seizures, I showed sharp spike waves on my EEG in my left frontal lobe. Thus, it is indicating signs that I still have epileptic activity going on in my brain. Of course, I have to still take my medications. Thankfully, she didn’t make any changes when I told her about what is currently happening in my life that is affecting my health. I have been dealing with a lot of stress and as of lately, I have been experiencing auras more frequently. My most recent one was on April 4th in the morning. I just felt a strange feeling come over me. It made me jump. I started looking around and experiencing a rising sensation in my stomach. It was one of those strong auras. I was scared as hell. Ever since that episode happened, I have been closely carrying my seizure diary with me at all times. You never know when a seizure will occur. They are very unpredictable. I have to be on guard at all times and keep my phone with me to record the start and end time of each seizure or aura. 

This entry was published on April 27, 2016 at 11:26 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

