Story Behind My Epilepsy Surgery (Left Temporal Lobectomy)

Hey everyone. It came out of nowhere when I was discussing this subject with Mr. Amazing. Anyways, the subject about my epilepsy surgery came up and what happened during the procedure. I do have access to my medical records online through the website, Follow My Health, that I talked about earlier on here. That’s how I found out what happened during my operation and what my neurosurgeon had to take out of my brain. 

Mr. Amazing thinks that everything that I have went through for almost 23 years of my life is amazing. He’s interested in learning more about it and applause me on what I am doing on here. I need that support and I appreciate it coming from him. I have had so much trouble with my health and it has made me into a stronger, resilient person. Having epilepsy didn’t hold me back from accomplishing anything that I set my mind to achieve. Hey look at it! My epilepsy is well- controlled now since my surgery and I am extremely thankful for that. I am going to graduate very soon from college and go into a profession that gives me a chance to utilize my degree. I am on three medications right now, carbamazepine, keppra, and most recently, lamictal. That’s 2900 mg in all. They have worked wonders for me. I am looking forward to the day that I will be a year seizure- free. I might come off of my medications. I hope it is successful. I’m not gonna lie. I do have fears and anxiety about my neurologist discontinuing my medications in the next couple years due to my encounters with it in the past. All I have to do is pray and believe that God will get me through it like he got me through my surgery. Everyone thinks that I should write a book about my story and get it published just because my story is inspirational and will give others hope about their diagnosis or diagnoses. It is a consideration for me. 

When I did peruse my medical records, I discovered that three sections of my brain were taken out. They were the hippocampus, amygdala, and the left temporal pole. 

It was discovered that I had hippocampal sclerosis. The hippocampus is located in the medial temporal lobe. It is a part of the limbic system, which is responsible for the sense of smell, formation of long- term memory, and the sensation of fear. The hippocampus is the structure of the brain that is responsible for the production of new memories. It is thought to be the structure that controls spatial navigation, which is dependent upon how individuals are able to remember and differentiate current and past positions in the environment to find their way around.

It was also found that there was mild gliosis in my amygdala and temporal pole. The amygdala is located deep into the temporal lobe. It controls the processing of emotions, such as fear, anger, and pleasure. It also takes part in what memories are stored and where memories are stored in the brain.  Gliosis is the process of scarring in the central nervous system. It is the result from a proliferation of astrocytes that cause the formation of a fibrous glial scar. 

Sources: www.wisegeek.com.hat-is-hippocampal-sclerosis.htm

www.biology.about.com/od/anatomy/p/Amygdala.htm

www.wisegeek.org/what-is-gliosis.htmp

This entry was published on April 4, 2016 at 10:00 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

