Blogmas Day Eleven: Traveling With A Disability

Happy Blogmas Day Eleven. Today was the last day of my final exams and I am ready to relax and unwind. I will be traveling to Tuskegee, Alabama tonight with my sister and father to visit the rest of my family. I will be there for a few days and then I will be back in Cleveland. I will still be participating in Blogmas though. We will be traveling by car for fourteen hours. So, I will definitely need something to do during that time. I will be bringing some books to read. 

Traveling isn’t anything new to me. I have traveled to Washington, D.C., Alabama, Florida, Texas, Georgia, Illinois, and Pennsylvania. I have also been out of the country twice. When I was younger, I went to Canada and I went to Barcelona, Spain when I was 20 years old. Spain had to be the most amazing trip out of all of them. Their culture and language is beautiful. There are at least about four different languages they speak there. The main language that was spoken there was Catalan. I went everywhere. To the aquarium. The beach. The different stores they had there. I went sight- seeing. I saw the statue of Christopher Columbus. The food and pastries were delicious. It was absolutely beautiful. There is so much history behind Spain and I was soaking it up like a sponge. I loved every minute of it. 

Before my passport expires, I would love to go back to Europe and visit Rome, Italy. My favorite famous landmark has to be the Spanish Steps. It looks so beautiful and soothing with the waterfall in front of it. I wouldn’t mind going to Paris and South America too. I am a very adventurous person. I like to experience and try new places. You have only one life to live. So, why not live it to the fullest? 

Well, if you are one of those types of people who like to take trips, you have to plan your vacation carefully. If you have a serious medical condition, you may find these tips helpful. 

*Prepare your trip ahead of time so that your trip can be accessible to you as well as fun.

*Do research on the places in which you would like to travel. Use websites and blogs that will help you decide on a location. The United States State Department has in depth information for you to find information about traveling with a disability. You can also contact the embassy for disability accommodations. 

*Book traveling arrangements in advance. This will allow you to get the accommodations that you need for your trip. You can arrange to have transportation on your way to the airport, as well as on your flight. Talk to major companies about your travel plans. They are able to get everything completed.

*Read policies about traveling with a disability. This will allow you to get the accessible needs for your traveling day. Make sure to keep a copy of this with you. 

*Make an appointment with your doctor about traveling and to write out a copy describing your specific medical conditions. 

*Carry emergency information at all times. Have a list of the medications that you take and emergency phone numbers of your doctors and family members, as well as local doctors at your travel destination. 

*Bring extra medication and emergency aid kits in case something were to happen on your vacation. There is always a possibility you may lose medication or your crutches and/or wheelchair may need repairing. 

Be safe and have a great vacation. See you tomorrow. 

This entry was published on December 11, 2015 at 5:26 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

