Blogmas Day Eight: How To Tell A Child He Or She Has A Disability

Telling a child he or she has a disability has to be the most nerve- wrecking thing that parents have to do. It’s stressful. I decided to write this post because of my four year old niece. She is starting to realize now that I have a physical disability and I am preparing myself to tell her in a few years about it. Just like her older brothers, she is curious of why her aunt is only using one hand. I remember playing with her Equestria dolls with her and she asked me if I needed help with changing her outfit. I thought it was so sweet. She had me thinking about this topic. I love her to death. That’s my baby. The love of my life. 

The conversation is approaching and I know exactly what I want to tell her. I will tell her at an age that I feel is appropriate for her. I never liked to use the word broken to describe my cerebral palsy at all. I always tell children that one of my hands is weaker than the other. I also use smaller words that way the kids are able to comprehend what I’m trying to relay to them. I think using bigger and more intelligent vocabulary can create a whole lot of confusion for them and have them more dumbfounded that what they are already feeling. On top of it all, I love to include in the conversation how they should stay positive and be comfortable in their own skin no matter what anyone else may think. Continue to be yourself, as well as teach them how to treat others with disabilities of any type with respect. They are just as much a part of the society as anyone else. Be kind and love everyone for who they are. 

This entry was published on December 8, 2015 at 11:37 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

