Blogmas Day Four: How To Curl Your Hair With One Hand

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

Happy Blogmas Day Four. It’s moving along quickly huh? Today I wanted to talk about how I curl my hair with one hand. I have been wanting to learn how to do this for a while. I tried out many other products but they never worked with the limitations that my cerebral palsy places upon me. So, for the most part, I go to the hair salon or have someone else do my hair. I am fully capable of washing and blow drying my hair. Curling my hair is a whole different arena. I started watching videos online of women who had lost a limb or had spastic hemiplegic cerebral palsy and took it upon myself to apply the knowledge that I learned. Therefore, I learned how to curl my hair easily.

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

This week I needed to touch up my hair for school. The way that I curl my hair is with flat irons because the regular curling irons are difficult for me to control. I did a great job with it and I am very proud of myself for that. I want to give as much daily living advice as I can to those that are having problems taking care of themselves. So, here is what I do to keep my hair nicely pressed.

**First, I comb all the tangles out of my hair.

**Second, I part my hair straight down the middle and put a ponytail holder on the side that I will be curling later on. For me, I prefer to do the right side because it is less straining. It all depends on your needs and limitations of your disability.

**Third, I take a small section of hair and put that section in between the fingers of my affected hand. Then, I curl it over with my flat irons a few times. By the last time, I create a curl.

**Fourth, I continue with this process until I’m finished.

Everyone’s disability affects them in various types of ways. No one task can work for the same person. You just have to play around and see what works for you. I hope that this information has helped you with gaining independence and becoming more self- sufficient. See you tomorrow.

This entry was published on December 4, 2015 at 11:35 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

