Blogmas Day Three: My Speech Clinic Observations Experience

This semester, I had to complete my twenty- five hours of clinical speech therapy observations given by the American Speech- Language- Hearing Association (ASHA) at Cleveland State University. Might I say it was such a wonderful experience getting the opportunity to view these adults and children participating in speech therapy and getting to see what types of communication disorders they have. In addition, I saw what forms of treatment were helping them achieve their therapy goals. It was great. I knew exactly why I chose to major in speech and hearing science. That is to set an example and help to inspire others to go after what they want in life and do whatever their heart desires despite the fact that they have a medical condition.

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

During the speech therapy observations, the students were placed in a room where there were about four headphones in there. The observation rooms couldn’t hold no more than two people at a time. During the fifty minute sessions, we sat there and viewed the entire session and took down notes about the client such as their age, what type of disorder they had, write down the person’s long term goals, the lesson that they were doing that day, and describe the activities that the clinician and patient were doing and assess which ones were effective or not. At the end of the day, we had to turn these sheets into the speech and hearing clinic to get our hours verified by ASHA.

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me  It was necessary for the students that were observing clients to have on dress casual attire.

Photo by: Me
It was necessary for the students that were observing clients to have on dress casual attire.

Photo by: Me  This is a picture I took before one of my observations started.

Photo by: Me
This is a picture I took before one of my observations started.

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

This is the professor that was in charge of it all. I love this woman to death. She is such a relateable, understandable person. I have known her since I was a little girl. She has been a huge supporter and mentor for me on my quest to becoming a speech- language pathologist. Thank you so much. It was a blessing working with her.

I had fun in the speech and hearing clinic and learned so many therapeutic methods to use on both children and adults. The next thing I will do is work with them face to face in the clinic. I cannot wait.

This entry was published on December 3, 2015 at 4:17 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

