People You Will Meet On Your Journey With Epilepsy

On your journey with epilepsy, you will be able to meet a variety of people who have different views and intentions in life when it comes to addressing very serious medical conditions such as epilepsy. I have come across a few different people along my journey with epilepsy that have either put me into a bad place, made me more content with myself, or have taught me to go out and educate the public about my health condition. I have compiled them into three categories.

Those that genuinely care and want to learn more.

These people have the most compassion toward your medical condition and want to do anything to make you feel right at home. They want to learn how to approach the possibility that you may have a seizure in front of them. I enjoy being around these types of people. They bring out the best in me. Keep these people around. They will be your support system.

Those that are too clingy or distant.

I am not too much of a fan of people who are clingy. It bothers me to death and gets under my skin. These are the people who make your epilepsy into a bigger deal than it has to be. They will constantly ask you, “What should I do in case you have a seizure?” When you give them the answer, they continue to push the situation. They really don’t want to take the answer that you give them. Some seizures do not need first aid. Like mine. There is absolutely no need to panic and act frantically.

The ones that are distant seemed to be the most scared. They do not know how to approach the situation and as a result, treats the individual as an outsider or makes them feel less of a person. Whether you are abled or disabled, everyone should be treated as equal. No stereotypical comments or unfriendly looks are needed.

Those that truly do not care.

These are the people that you should watch out for. If you do run across them, walk away. When you bring up your epilepsy, they totally dismiss it and automatically assume you are joking about it. First and foremost, epilepsy is a very serious medical condition that affects millions of people around the world.

I remember I was at a concert two or three years ago for an acquaintance of mine. Maybe an hour into the concert, I had a seizure triggered by the loud noise. I left to go outside to sit down and get some air. I told him that I had a seizure and he thought I was playing. Overall, it is uncalled for not to take the matter at heart. These people have a tendency to teach you valuable lessons that will help you when meeting new people in life.

A diagnosis of epilepsy does not make you nor breaks you. You are more than Epilepsy and deserve to be around people who love and care for you just the way you are. Stay strong. Stay positive. Stay you. Always and forever!!!!

This entry was published on November 29, 2015 at 11:51 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

