Getting Closer

Two weeks ago I went to see my neurologist’s nurse to follow up about my epilepsy. It’s always an entertaining visit going there. I can get to joke around with the medical staff and be my normal silly self. I love it. Everyone knows my face there and enjoys me being there. I am a very positive and optimistic person. By being that way, it gives me a chance to take my mind off of what’s to come during the appointment.

From last year’s visit, I was told that the possibility of me coming off my medications was an option to consider. That’s if all goes well. I was looking forward to it. It will be two years in December since my surgery. I have not one doubt in my mind that I will successfully get off of keppra and carbamazepine. In fact, I think it will be good for me. Today, we discussed the details of weaning me off, as well as some concerns of mine. Overall, she said the doctors usually recommend that after the third year of surgery. In the meantime, I will continue taking both medications at the same dosages until my next appointment on October 17, 2016 at 10:15 am. Hopefully, I will stay on the same path with great health by then.

I can already see myself now, smiling with excitement in my heart, finally hearing that I am going off of the medications. I can think of so many things that I will be able to do without having restrictions placed upon. I will definitely take in every moment and appreciate it. I keep it implanted in my mind that everything will be okay and that everything will work out for the best. Always having a positive mindset.

This entry was published on October 26, 2015 at 8:00 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

