Counseling

Hey everyone. I know that I have been absent for a minute. I’m sorry about that. Well, school started back and I have been working in overdrive since I began. I promise that I will post more often. Lately, I have been trying to find ways to expand this blog. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.

For the past month or so, I was going back and forth on whether or not I should go to counseling. I haven’t been feeling myself for a while. I was afraid of telling my family. I have been having emotional breakdowns all the time. I have been stressed out and it’s been having an emotional, as well as a physical effect on me. I decided to make an appointment with a counselor at my university. The session went very well. I liked him a lot. He was very funny. I expect that out of a counselor or psychologist. Usually when some people think of going to a psychologist, they picture it to be boring. This one was different. His sessions involve a more Afrocentric approach to them. He basically compares how people’s feelings relate to their cultural and historical backgrounds. That’s an interesting approach to it. He was extremely comforting and likable. I brought more of my personality out which is something I usually don’t do. I have been working on becoming more relateable and not so introverted.

I told him everything that has been going on with me and how it started. My feelings of inferiority and my personal problems with insecurities. Just talking about that alone had me in tears. Overall, he helped me realize the type of person that I want to be from here on out. I look forward to more sessions like these. They are great!

There is nothing wrong with counseling or going to see someone for help. I embrace it. If you feel like you are fighting a battle alone, there is always an opportunity to seek professional help. Everyone wants to feel like they are being heard. Be strong.

Photo by: Me

Photo by: Me

This entry was published on September 19, 2015 at 10:38 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

