Ableism+Being An Activist/Advocate

On Friday, June 26th, 2015, great news had surfaced around the United States. It is now legal for everyone to marry whomever they want to regardless of the sex. This nation is making a concerted effort in including all minority groups into the society. I am so elated to hear this news. I am an activist for equality of all kinds and an advocate. I believe that everyone is created as equal and should be treated as such no matter what. I have family members and friends who are a part of the LGBT community and I love them. Just because you love differently doesn’t mean you have to be treated differently. Love is love regardless of the sex, race, or physical capabilities. I hope you guys enjoy your newfound freedom. You deserve it.

This is just the beginning though. This new achievement got me thinking that there is more improvement and acceptance to be made. Ableism, which is the notion that one chooses able- bodied individuals over disabled individuals, is still alive and kicking. I am totally against this notion amongst other ones. I am pro- equality and happiness. It is still shocking to see that there are still hate crimes being committed towards minority group members. I remember watching the news and discovering how a parent was mocking his child’s gait, who had a form of cerebral palsy, on video. Let’s not forget the infamous ALS ice bucket challenge with the teenagers tossing urine, spit, and fecal matter on a teen boy with autism. Absolutely not. That was just down right disgusting and disrespectful.

I have been told in the past that I was incapable of achieving the goals that I had made for myself just because I was disabled and as well as had other stuff happen to me. Guess what??? I have. I proved everyone that doubted me wrong. I try to treat everyone fairly regardless of what they have going on. Something like equality takes a lot of hard work, dedication, and effort to accomplish. It’s definitely possible. Not everyone will be receptive and understanding. Just to know that there are people out there that are advocating for the disabled community gives hope for the future. You are your own advocate. No one knows you better than yourself.

Don’t forget,

ELIAES (Express, Love, Include, Advocate, Educate, and Support)

Photo by: Unknown

Photo by: Unknown

This entry was published on June 28, 2015 at 1:21 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

