X- Ray Results Are In

On Tuesday, I received a call from my primary care physician regarding the x- ray I had done on my spine on May 1st. She explained to me that I do, in fact, have scoliosis. It is a very mild case of scoliosis though. I am extremely thankful for that. I do not need anything putting more pressure on my heart and impeding me from breathing effectively, you know? In addition to that, she told me that my spine has shifted and rotated as well. That sounds just great. Cue eye roll.

When I went into the hospital to get my x- ray, I signed up for the hospital’s online medical records program called HealtheChart. This program is similar to Follow My Health that I talked about in a different post. Well, I went on the health portal to check my results and, the results read that I have a mild reverse s- shaped scoliosis of the thoracolumbar spine (my middle and lower back). There is a mild loss of disc height at L3- 4 (lumbar vertebrae three and four). I have slight retrolisthesis at L2- 3 and L3- 4. I decided to research what retrolisthesis was because I didn’t know anything about it. Retrolisthesis is an acute, degenerative, or congenital condition in which the vertebra in the spine is displaced and has moved backward. This is the main reason why I am having such extreme pain in my lower back. It is nice to know the reason why I am going through this experience.

The next steps in my treatment are to go meet with a neurosurgeon. My doctor originally wanted me to see the orthopedic surgeon that gave me the prescription to get fitted for my hinged AFO and volar extension wrist splint. Unfortunately, at the last minute, she changed her mind. She sent over a referral for me to see a neurosurgeon that specializes in the spine. I am unable to make an appointment with this doctor now because she requires that her patients get a MRI done to get her opinion on their diagnosis. For the time being, I have to go back to my regular doctor and get a referral to get a MRI. I made so many calls to the hospital that it was ludicrous. The receptionists did not know what I was talking about and transferred me to different departments. I was given the wrong number to get in touch with the person that I needed to get the referral from. It was a chaotic situation that I was tangled up in. My frustration level went from zero to two hundred in a quick second. I just decided to make an appointment to get the doctor’s approval to get the MRI done. That’s on June 11th at 11:00 am.

I want everything done in a respectful and timely fashion. I don’t want to be placed in these types of predicaments like I was before. I was given false hope of earlier appointments and more tests needed to be completed. That, in turn, causes me to be stressed out and tired. If you don’t go at a glacial pace and follow the proper protocol that was expected, everything goes in a disarray. I guess that’s the way the cookie crumbles at times. Unexpected events happen all the time. I just have to roll with it and see how it goes.

When I go to my primary care physician and the neurosurgeon, I will take some pictures of my spine and put them on here.

This entry was published on May 14, 2015 at 12:15 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

