My Epilepsy Medications

I made the decision to make a post on the types of medication that I take for my epilepsy. Since I was diagnosed with epilepsy at such a young age, I have only taken one anti- seizure medication and that is tegretol. Tegretol is a type of seizure medication that treats my form of epilepsy, which is complex partial seizures, as well as other types of epilepsy syndromes. So, since I was 2 years old when I was diagnosed, I really am unsure of what type of effect it had on me. When I was younger, I was taking this medication by twisting the pills open and sprinkling it on a spoonful of applesauce. At that time, it was safer for me to digest the medication that way because I was not old enough to swallow the pills whole. It was great for my seizures. It kept me seizure free for six to eight years until I was taken off of the medication.

Fast forward a few years… I was put back on my seizure medications because I was constantly having seizures. So, my doctors increased my tegretol to the highest dosage. That didn’t stop me from seizing. They added a new medication along with my tegretol, which was keppra. I remember the first time that I took keppra. It was on February 11, 2011. The side effects were craaaaazy. I had serious vertigo, balance problems, and rage. I almost fell one day. I’m sorry but rage is a side effect of this drug so, don’t be alarmed. It will go away with time. Anyway, it was bad. I didn’t know what to do with myself. The side effects lasted for a month or so. It was great that it didn’t last long. Later on, I got hit with another unexpected surprise that they were changing my tegretol to the generic form, carbamazepine. I guess it would be easier to use them instead of twisting them open every morning and night. I was constantly spilling it on the floor. I didn’t like that at all. It made me feel like I wasn’t getting the correct amount of medications everyday to control my seizures.

For the time being, I am taking carbamazepine and keppra. I take 3,600 mg every day. Each morning, I take one 200 mg Carbamazepine pill and three 500 mg Keppra pills. In the evening, I take two Carbamazepine pills and three Keppra pills. In all, that equals 3,600 mg. That’s a whole lot of milligrams to take for such a young person. I have say that it has worked thus far on controlling my seizures. I haven’t had an epileptic seizure since late February. I am extremely happy that my seizures have slowed down. I hope to come off of my medications in October when I see my neurologist.

Photo by: Me  My Seizure Medications: Keppra (left) and Carbamazepine (right)

Photo by: Me
My Seizure Medications: kseppra (left) and carbamazepine (right)

This entry was published on April 25, 2015 at 7:30 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

