Other Forms Of Spastic Cerebral Palsy

In a previous post that I made titled, “What Is Cerebral Palsy (CP)?”, I discussed what the different types of cerebral palsy were and what some of the types of topographical forms of spastic cerebral palsy were such as spastic diplegia, spastic hemiplegia, spastic quadriplegia, spastic monoplegia, and spastic triplegia. There are a few more topographical forms to add to the list and they are:

  • Spastic Paraplegia: The lower half of the person’s body, including the legs, are affected.
  • Double Hemiplegia: All of the person’s limbs are affected, but each side is affected differently than the other.
  • Tetraplegia: All of the person’s limbs are affected, but three limbs are affected more than the fourth.
  • Pentaplegia: All of the person’s limbs are affected, including neck and head paralysis. In addition, the person has difficulty with eating and breathing.

There is a distinct difference between plegia and paresis. Plegia means paralysis and paresis means there is a weakness in the individual’s limbs.

Source: www.cerebralpalsy.org/about-cerebral-palsy/types-and-forms/

This entry was published on March 9, 2015 at 10:07 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s