Temps Test

After my doctors sent out the papers to the BMV stating it was safe for me to drive with me being six months seizure free, I began to study to take my temps test. I had to start from scratch and get my temps. It was nothing like paying a reinstatement fee to get my driver’s license unsuspended. The papers that I received in the mail explained that I needed to take the temps first. That’s exactly what I did. When I was ready to take the test, I showed them the letter and after studying for a few weeks, I received my temporary driving permit on January 13th. I cannot tell you guys how elated I was when I finally got them. It was the most happiest day of my life. I just felt like I was moving in the right direction. Not to mention, feeling like I have accomplished and achieved my main goal for the new year.

The next week, I started driving a modified car with a steering wheel knob and left gas accelerator. It was a liberating, exhilarating, and an amazing feeling. For someone that hasn’t drove a car in almost four years, I didn’t do bad at all. I most definitely know how to drive a car. It is not a difficult task for me to do. I just need to keep up the consistency. I wish the weather conditions were better here in Cleveland, Ohio. Unfortunately, they are not. It is super cold and icy on the roads in certain areas of the city, making it difficult to drive. But due to academic reasons and the weather, I have decided to take a temporary hiatus from driving until I finish my spring semester at school then when I am finished, I will begin driving again and work towards getting my driver’s license back. Sounds good? My main focus right now is school and only that. Focusing on multiple different things at once might cause me to get ridiculously stressed out. I don’t want that and I definitely don’t want to deal with the repercussions if anything happens, you know? I am trying to keep myself relaxed, peaceful, and tranquil.

I have great expectations for myself in the near future regarding this. I plan on getting a vehicle and my modifications. I already bought one of the modifications a few weeks ago and now I have to buy the other one soon. I am making a concerted effort to help better myself as a woman and as a person in general. I am doing the best that I can to make my new year’s resolutions come true for this year. Like I always say, nothing is going to get in the way of what I want for myself and I have learned not to depend on others because in the end, some will end up disappointing you instead of guiding you. So, with that in mind, I will do things myself in my own way. Independence is everything to me.

Photo by: Me Papers from my neurologist giving me permission to drive again.

Photo by: Me
Papers from my neurologist giving me permission to drive again.

Photo by: Me  This is an example of the steering wheel knob that I use to drive with.

Photo by: Me
This is an example of the steering wheel knob that I use to drive with.

Photo by: Me This is the left gas accelerator that I use to drive with.

Photo by: Me
This is the left gas accelerator that I use to drive with.

If you want to achieve something in life, go after it and never let it go. Just remember the words from Langston Hughes poem, “A Dream Deferred”. Think of what the poem’s message is… you can do anything if you stick your mind to it.

This entry was published on February 12, 2015 at 8:47 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

