When Is It A Good Time To Tell Someone You’re Disabled?

Personally, I think the right time to tell someone you are disabled, whether it being a significant other or a close friend depends on how comfortable you are with talking about your physical disability to other people and your background with dealing with it. For me, I am pretty comfortable with talking about my cerebral palsy and epilepsy to others, that’s only if I need to such as with starting school and working. Those are a must. Other than that, I take my time talking to the person about my disability just to see whether they will understand it and not try to dismiss or pick on me about it. I cannot help the fact that I was born this way but I am. I say you either going to accept it or you are not. Too bad if you don’t because then, you are going to miss out on getting to know a wonderful person. People are so much more than what they look like on the outside. Never underestimate their abilities and get to know their personalities before anything else. Never discriminate. Always integrate.

My advice would be for those of you guys who are really confident in yourselves, go ahead and be straightforward and tell them about your disability and how it affects you in your daily life. I hope that this straightforward and honest approach would help them appreciate you as an individual and the type of person you are. I truly wish you the best of luck. When going forward with this approach, keep calm, cool, and collected. Be true to yourself and keep reminding yourself how blessed you are and how you are such a wonderful person.

On the other hand, for those of you who have a difficult time speaking about your disability to other people, I say take as long as you have to in putting in the details about your disability on the table unless the person is curious enough to just come out and ask you upfront. Then, you are obligated to tell them about it. If this does happen, keep your cool. Sit that person down and let him or her know what’s up. In other cases, plan ahead of time and write out everything that you would like to tell them. Go over it the day before. Don’t shy away or try to change the subject. Keep it one hundred all the way. I know it is easier said than done. It’s okay to be nervous though. It’s a natural reaction to these certain types of situations. I have had my doubts in the past about talking to people about my medical conditions. To this day, I still get a little nervous but I know I have to do it. Eventually, they will figure it out by looking at the way I walk and how I hold my hand. Like I said, I am confident and content with who I am. I want others to feel the same way when they are around me. You know? If they are unable or unwilling to accept you the way you are, then let them go. They are not worth your time or patience. Keep it moving. You know your capabilities in life and you are going after them. I hope this advice has helped.

Be Proud. Be Fearless. Be Strong.

I love you all so much.

This entry was published on December 20, 2014 at 9:58 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

