My Learning Disabilities

Yes. I have two specific learning disabilities, one in reading comprehension, and the other in math calculation. A specific learning disability in reading comprehension is not similar to dyslexia. With the specific learning disability in reading comprehension, the person can read and spell perfectly fine but their problem is understanding the meaning of words and passages, as well as remembering what they have just read. The person can also have problems decoding words. In dyslexia, the person has difficulty in learning to read and some people can mix up the correct writing of numbers and letters.

I have been dealing with these learning disabilities since I was 7 years old when I was in the first grade. Growing up, it would take me longer to complete critical thinking math problems and to understand what a particular text was saying. All throughout elementary school into my senior year in high school, I was in special education classes receiving help in math and English. I really disliked English. It was the main class I struggled in. I just felt like all the other kids were smarter than me. They comprehended what the teacher said and they understood what the text was saying, but I didn’t. In a way, I felt so alone and distant from the world. I am not going to lie, being in college is a little bit easier than when I was in elementary school, junior high school, and high school. Math became easier for me. Those critical thinking and written out questions were way easier. So, I excelled in both of my college math classes getting an A and a B. On the other hand, English remained the same… a struggle. I rarely ever participate in any of my classes that involve an extensive amount of reading or class discussions. It is not because I don’t want to. The honest truth is that I still struggle understanding the material. As a result, I don’t answer questions that I don’t know. It is just as simple as that.

Let’s take it to a positive note. I made it to my junior year of college without any help. I have to give myself a pat on the back for that one. It is truly amazing. My secret tactic into moving past my learning disability is to try my best to memorize and learn the subject the best way I can by using PowerPoint presentations and flashcards. I am a visual learner. I find it helpful to look at the things that I am learning instead of using my auditory skills. That just confuses me more. As a result, I have a hard time following excessive auditory instructions or lectures.

This entry was published on September 30, 2014 at 7:37 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

