United Cerebral Palsy’s Race To Empower One Mile Fun Run 2014

On May 4, 2014, I participated in the second annual Race to Empower one mile fun run provided by United Cerebral Palsy of Greater Cleveland. It was such an AMAZING event. I loved it. United Cerebral Palsy raised over $50,000 because of this event. There were a lot of people who attended the event, both disabled and abled. It was wonderful seeing people with cerebral palsy overcome their physical limitations and conquer cerebral palsy. It was truly a blessing for me to be a part of this. It motivates me to continue to spread more awareness about cerebral palsy throughout my community and do volunteer work. I enjoy helping and inspiring others. It makes me happy and it makes me feel proud. I received an enormous amount of support from my family and friends while I was preparing for this race. My family was telling me how strong of a person I am and how I am so passionate about empowering others with disabilities to follow their dreams. It means the world to me. I heard it all from, “You can do it, H. McCollom.” to “You are an amazing young woman.” The comments were very much appreciated. My mother and godmother walked in the race with me, too. That, to me, shows me how much I am loved by my family and how much I love them. They are down for me. I like that. My dad even came by to support his little princess and to be there for me. I love my daddy sooo much.

After the race, there were gold metals given out to the top three female and male finishers in each age group. Even though I didn’t win a gold metal, I did win something that no material object can replace and that is I overcame the challenges that I faced over the past 22 years of my life living with cerebral palsy. I have been through a whole lot and I have become a stronger person due to it. That’s my gold metal. Below are a few pictures that were taken while I was at the Race to Empower event. Enjoy!!!!

Photo by: Me  This is the United Cerebral Palsy of Greater Cleveland sign.

Photo by: Me
This is the United Cerebral Palsy of Greater Cleveland sign.

Photo by: Me  This is the Race To Empower sign.

Photo by: Me
This is the Race To Empower sign.

Photo by: Rochelle Johnson This is a picture of me before the race began.

Photo by: Rochelle Johnson
This is a picture of me before the race began.

Photo by: William McCollom This is a picture of my mother, godmother, and I that was taken after the race.

Photo by: William McCollom
This is a picture of my mother, godmother, and I that was taken after the race.

Photo by: William McCollom This is a picture of my mother, godmother, and I crossing the finish line. It was such an exhilarating feeling.

Photo by: William McCollom
This is a picture of my mother, godmother, and I crossing the finish line. It was such an exhilarating feeling.

ucp-6

ucp-7

Photos by: Me  These are pictures of some of the people who were racing with me.

Photos by: Me
These are pictures of some of the people who were racing with me.

Photo by: Me  I was racer number 3038.

Photo by: Me
I was racer number 3038.

Photo by: Me  Here are some wristbands. “Inspired to TRI.”

Photo by: Me
Here are some wristbands. “Inspired to TRI.”

This entry was published on May 15, 2014 at 8:46 am. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

