There’s More To Me…

There is more to me than just being a person who has cerebral palsy and epilepsy. Even though these two medical conditions affect what I do and how I accomplish certain tasks, I lead a regular life just like anyone else. There are many things that I like to do. I enjoy going shopping just like any other girl. YEAH!!!! I like to go to the movies and hang out with my family and friends. I like traveling. I went to Barcelona, Orlando, and Canada. It was a beautiful experience. It’s wonderful seeing the architecture and learning about the culture of different countries. A long time passion of mine is speaking and learning Spanish. I first learned Spanish when I was about 4 years old. My older sister taught me a couple expressions like the greetings, colors, and the vocabulary for people. But I’m not fluent in the language just yet. But I will be with more practice. I really didn’t get into the fundamentals of the Spanish language until I was in the tenth grade. I found it very fascinating learning about conjugating verbs and the history of the language. As I progressed in Spanish, I decided to take my own route and I began to buy book after book on subjects such as Spanish idioms, vocabulary flash cards, slang, basically anything. You will not believe how many Spanish books I have. I guess in my case, if it’s your passion go after it. And I went after mine HARD.

The first year I attended Cleveland State University, I took an internship with a Spanish professor. She taught me so much. Teaching Spanish was not what I wanted to do. I wanted to become an interpreter. I thank her so much for giving me that opportunity and work experience. Right now, I am currently studying speech and hearing just to give back to others who are disabled. I still enjoy Spanish and love tutoring people on it. I still have the passion to inspire you all out there who are reading this website and are following my example of staying positive about any medical condition diagnosis. You are all uniquely beautiful.

I love you all.

Ustedes son las personas extraordinarias. (You are extraordinary people.)

This entry was published on February 21, 2014 at 6:21 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

