What A Journey!!!!

For a 22 year old young woman, I have been through one hell of a journey. Since I was 15 years old, I have went through six surgeries in all, five orthopedic surgeries, three on my right hand and two on my right foot. The most recent surgery was the epilepsy surgery. I consider myself a very strong and fearless person for everything that I have gone through in such a small amount of time. Not too many people that I know can stay positive and be strong without eventually breaking down in the process. I am very unique and special. I am a confident person. Recently, I had to develop the mentality of “I do not care about what you say about me.” But one thing that I will NEVER tolerate is being bullied because I just can’t deal. I can’t understand it. You pick on others just to make yourself look better. Just because I have cerebral palsy and epilepsy and I am proud of it, does not necessarily mean I like to be bullied and made fun of about it. I’m a Gemini so anything can set me off and make me emotional. Right now, I am learning how to ignore the negativity and stay with the positivity. Wink. Wink.

The orthopedic surgeries helped me to some degree but they were mostly done to keep my hand and leg as loose as possible. I have many dreams, goals, and ambitions in life. I want to get my license and to find a job that I can feel comfortable at being the non- ambidextrous person that I am. I just purchased the journey and seeing stars charms from Pandora for obvious reasons. The journey charm symbolizes the ups and downs that I have endured with being a person who has cerebral palsy and epilepsy and the seeing stars charm symbolizes looking toward the future. My journey has definitely made me into a better person and made me want to strive and shoot for the stars. I hope and wish to inspire others and share how important it is to believe in yourself and have great self- esteem. Journeys are worth taking if you learn and grow from them. I am doing that every day.  

This entry was published on February 11, 2014 at 3:14 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

