My Epilepsy Surgical Procedure: Temporal Lobectomy

The procedure that I am scheduled to have next month is a Left Temporal Lobectomy. This week, the nurse ended up calling me and told me that my procedure was changed from December 11th to December 13th. Not too much of a change. I just hope it stays on that date because I need someone to care for me before the beginning of the year. I have to be realistic about the situation I’m in… I am freaking scared to die from brain surgery. I think everyone has that type of fear but you know what, I am praying on my hands and knees that I am going to come out of this surgery in one piece. I have a whole lot of support from my family and my cousin is coming in town to visit me. I know my family has my back 100%. I love them unconditionally.

I created this blog post to give you all information about a Temporal Lobectomy surgery. Temporal Lobectomy is a type of Epilepsy surgical procedure where a portion of the temporal lobe is removed. At the beginning of the surgery, a patch of hair over the temple is shaved. The skin is then cut into a C- shaped partial circle above the ear. There are several nickel- sized holes drilled into a circle. In order to get to the temporal lobe, a bone saw cuts between the holes to remove a circle of bone. At the end of the procedure, the bone will be hardwired back in place and will eventually be sealed to the skull. The wires are nonmagnetic and are MRI compatible. They hold the bone in place and does not need to be removed.

During the procedure, the dura mater, the membrane over the brain, is cut open where the temporal lobe is able to be seen. Portions of the temporal lobe are taken out by suction. As a result, the portion of the brain that was taken out does not grow back. The space will be occupied by fluid surrounding the brain. The operation takes two to three hours. When the patient wakes up from the anesthesia, he or she will be disoriented for a day. There will definitely be a headache involved. This is the part that I am scared of. I hate to have a headache, especially a really BAD one. So, I am expecting to cry a lot. Don’t laugh at me. I’m a big baby. The patient will also be nauseated, have a sore throat from the breathing tube, and will have swelling and bruising of the forehead and eye on the side of the surgery. By day three, most patients are able to eat (Something I definitely like to do ALL THE TIME), walk with assistance, and are able to sit in a chair. The typical stay in the hospital is three to seven days. Patients should stay at home with a trusted family member or friend for a week and restrain from doing strenuous and heavy activities.

Complications from a Temporal Lobectomy includes severe speech problems, reading difficulties, stroke or partial paralysis or numbness, personality changes, deterioration of memory, partial vision loss, psychiatric deterioration, severe depression, psychosis, and death which has an occurrence of 0.1% to 0.5%.

This information will be useful for anyone considering a Temporal Lobectomy for Partial Seizures or anyone wanting to know more about the surgery. Thank you for reading this informational blog post on the type of surgery that I am receiving. I am definitely counting down the days.

Source: www.stanfordhospital.org

ELIAES (Express, Love, Include, Advocate, Educate, and Support)

This entry was published on November 29, 2013 at 3:52 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

