Another Seizure, Another Disappointment

Earlier this month, I had another seizure. I hadn’t had a seizure like the ones that I normally have (Flashing lights in my right eye, turning of my head to the right, etc.) since I was in the hospital at the beginning of July. That’s almost two months ago.  It’s a disappointment to me but that’s a day in the life of H. McCollom. Between July 8th and now, I have been having auras. Auras are kind of like small seizures. For me, auras are just the tingling sensation in my stomach and nothing else. I usually don’t document my auras in my seizure diary. I just document my full blown Complex Partial Seizures with the symptoms that I have with them.

This time, the seizure didn’t pop up out of nowhere. You know? I accidentally forgot to take my seizure medication. It’s a normal thing for someone to forget to take their medicine. When I forget to take my medications, I get a REALLY BAD headache. I mean the headache would be unbearable. I can tolerate any form of pain except a headache. I begin to cry and scream to the top of my lungs. Unfortunately, I had to pay the repercussions… a seizure. This seizure happened in the middle of the night around 12:57 am. I was lying down on my pillow and all of a sudden I felt a tingling sensation in my stomach. Then, my heart started beating really fast. I turned my head to the right and saw a flashing yellow light in my right eye. And then BOOM… the episode ended. It was very quick but I still had the headache. I couldn’t sleep at all that night. I took some pain killers. Didn’t work well. I have to remember to take my medications or else I have to face another seizure again. I wouldn’t want that to happen again. Right?

This entry was published on September 16, 2013 at 5:54 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

