Today Is The Day!!!!

August 19, 2013 was the day that I have been waiting for. To see my neurologist and to see if I am FOR SURE a candidate for Epilepsy surgery. My parents came with me to see what’s up and to see what the next step will be after this appointment. I wore my Epilepsy Awareness t- shirt just to show support for my fellow people and me who have Epilepsy. I learned that I have Left Mesial Temporal Lobe Epilepsy. Isn’t that a diagnosis? Wowee!!!! What this means is that my seizures are starting in the deep middle of my temporal lobe near the hippocampus which is important in forming new memories and sending them out to the appropriate parts of the cerebral hemisphere for long term storage and retrieving them later on when needed. I have to take the Wada Test where they stick a catheter up your leg and shut down one hemisphere of your brain and see how the other half of the brain is working and vice versa. My neurologist was telling me that I will have to see the neurosurgeon and go back to the EMU and before surgery, get the electrodes drilled inside of my head, where they are near my brain just to make sure where the seizure focus is located at. They already know where the seizures are coming from but they want to make sure before they perform surgery. I was so overwhelmed after he finished talking about the plan for me.

Throughout the entire appointment, I learned details about myself that I had never heard before. I was surprised as all get up and was looking at my mother in a confused way the whole time she was talking about my medical history. Guess what I found out? At birth, the cord was wrapped around my neck and I suffered from Meconium Aspiration Syndrome in which I inhaled some of my bowels. Eeeewwww!!!! I also found out that I was diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy at 9 months old and I supposedly had a convulsion at my daycare. My eyebrows were raised. I mean RAISED. It was like I went through electric shock. I was like, “Are you serious? Damn, I had a difficult birth.” This is all so new to me. But I’m okay. Aren’t I? I made it out perfectly normal. I might have a couple of medical conditions but I’m cool.

I guess the process of Epilepsy surgery is still on and poppin’. When I receive the surgery, I’m still going to consider myself a person with Epilepsy, but a person who has their Epilepsy under control HOPEFULLY. I know in some way that doesn’t sound right but Epilepsy has been a part of my life for so long where I feel it is a part of me that will stay forever just like my Cerebral Palsy. Someone will call me about getting the Wada Test done in the next couple of weeks and then it will be more things to do after that.

ELIAES (Express, Love, Include, Advocate, Educate, and Support)

This entry was published on August 19, 2013 at 6:20 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

