Tired. Tired. Tired.

Oh my gosh. Ever since my seizures have become more frequent, it seems as if my family, no one in particular, has been watching over my every move. I guess, in a way, I am feeling slightly annoyed and frustrated. As you all know, I have focal seizures. So, my seizures are mostly like me staring in space for a long amount of time, depending on how severe the seizure is. At times, I zone out and begin to daydream. While I am daydreaming, I can be in front of my father, sister, mother, whoever, someone would ask me if I am having a seizure or if I am okay. Usually, I would let someone know when I am going to have a seizure. It feels like I have hawks watching over me. It’s weird. I am aware that they have my best interest at heart but it can get a little overwhelming at times.

Another thing that bothered me is when I told two friends that I had Epilepsy and one of them didn’t believe me and just brushed it off like it wasn’t nothing serious. Well, it kind of is serious. The other friend is someone that I have known since I was 9 years old and that person understood but the only thing wrong with that situation is that they wanted to know what to do in case I had a seizure and I told them you basically cannot do anything. I assured them that I feel the seizure coming on and will let them know. You cannot call an ambulance. I will just snap out of it. That wasn’t enough to convince them. So, I just left it alone because I was getting kind of frustrated. The point of it all is that I wish my family and friends would try to understand my Epilepsy and the feelings that go along with it. Just understand and have sympathy (But not too much where it gets a little overpowering). I love my family and friends for being the loving and caring individuals that they are.

This entry was published on July 19, 2013 at 2:02 pm. It’s filed under Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

